What are ISO Standards?

ISO standards are international standards that provide guidelines and specifications for products, services, and processes. They are developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), a non-governmental organisation made up of representatives from various national standards organisations. These standards are voluntary, meaning that companies can choose to adhere to them or not. However, many companies choose to use them as a way to demonstrate their commitment to quality and safety

Certification to ISO standards

The Benefits of ISO Standards

ISO standards provide a number of benefits for businesses and consumers alike. For businesses, they can help ensure that products meet certain quality requirements, which can help improve customer satisfaction and loyalty. They can also demonstrate that businesses are implementing measures to, for example, increase resilience or ensure effective information security protocols. Additionally, ISO standards can be used as a way to demonstrate compliance with government regulations and industry best practices.

For buyers, such as for consumers and businesses, ISO standards provide assurance that products meet certain safety and quality requirements, or that business procedures will meet particular requirements, such as security and privacy. This helps ensure that businesses and consumers are getting the best value for their money when purchasing products or services. Additionally, it helps promote trust between businesses and customers by providing assurance that the company is committed to providing safe, resilient and high-quality products or services.

How Are ISO Standards Developed?

The process of developing an ISO standard involves a number of steps. First, an organisation must submit a proposal for the standard to ISO. The proposal is then reviewed by experts from around the world who evaluate its merits and make recommendations for changes or improvements if necessary. Once approved by the ISO, the standard is published in its official document form and becomes available for use by organisations worldwide.

What Are Some Commonly Used ISO Standards?

There are many, many ISO standards, including ISO 9001 – Quality Management System and ISO 14001 – Environmental Management System.

However, the ones most relevant to this site are ISO 27001 – Information Security, Cyber Security & Privacy Protection – Information Management System and ISO 22301 – Security and Resilience – Business Continuity Management System. Also of importance is ISO 31000 – Risk Management System.

These are just some of the many different types of ISO standards available today. These each provide specific guidelines on how organisations should manage particular aspects of their operations in order to ensure, for example, information security or business continuity compliance.

As well as highlighting the specific operational aspects that an organisation will need to implement, the management system will also ensure on-going compliance by specifying processes for:

  • Ensuring top management buy-in and commitment
  • Training and staff awareness
  • On-going review, including maintenance, internal audit and management review
  • Effective document management
  • Ensuring availability of key resources


    In conclusion, ISO standards provide businesses with guidelines on how they should manage their operations in order to ensure compliance with specific issues, such as information security or business continuity. By adhering to these international standards, businesses can demonstrate their commitment to excellence while also gaining trust from customers around the world.

    Scroll to Top
    Scroll to Top